Cooking the pork

4 Dec
Pork for the tamales

Pork for the tamales I like to use nice quality meat and don’t like to buy meat with bones. I don’t like people to bite into a tamal and find a bone. A bone in a tamal can be unsafe and not too tasty.

IMG_6428

After the pork has rested for at least an hour, it will be very tender and tasty. It is ready for the next step. Put some olive oil in pan, heat and then cook the pork with onion to enhance the flavor. Too much oil will make them greasy, but tastier. I compromise and try to make them tasty without using too much oil.

IMG_6430

When the pork chemistry has been changed to my liking I add the sauce I had previously made. I add browned flour to make sure the sauce thickens to my liking.

IMG_6429

The pork is looking good and tasty

IMG_6433

After a certain point, my pork and sauce looks good and it taste great. I make to taste as I go to the different steps. My mother always told me to make sure they had plenty of salt because once in the tamales they would lose some of the salt.

IMG_6413

After the pork has been cooked for one hour, cover the por and let it rest for another hour. The pork will continue to cook with the heat stored in the pot. After that hour, the pork will be tasty and very tender.

cover pork with water, add onions, and pepper. Cook uncovered for one hour.

cover pork with water, add onions, and pepper. Cook uncovered for one hour. During the last fifteen minutes add the salt.

white onions

white onions- Use one onion to one and half in slices to cook the pork. Later one when the pork is fried, one onion also sliced will be used.

Leave a Reply

